Drunk, and Having Dreams During My Naps Way Home

I remember being drunk last night after 6 glasses of red wine which I enjoyed with my friend somewhere in the Lower East Side. The night ended, and as promised, I had to bring her home. I knew I was drunk then, as I couldn’t recall anything about it now. Except that I recall something else.  I had short dreams, really bits of dreams I had while drunk, and navigating my way back to the Staten Island Ferry on my way home.

I don’t know how I got myself lost in the subway last night. I realized I must have taken the wrong direction, which was going uptown. I must have been trying to get into the express train “2 or 3” downtown, and thought of switching to the “1” train in Chamber Street. But this did not happen.  I soon found myself in the “2” train, and listening to the announcement “59th Street.”  I opted to stay, and decided, I could just get off at the next stop. Upon getting off, I soon realized, I was at Lincoln Center at past 2am.  I knew I remember having reminded about a friend who just committed suicide a month ago. He studied at Juilliard here at the Lincoln Center. I felt his presence. The presence was more like a reminder, just like a momentary dream that happened in a few seconds. I said “hello” to him.

I went down the system again, and waited for the “1” train. I soon got able to reach the Ferry terminal, and made it just in time for the 3am ferry to St George in Staten Island. I was gently awakened by one of the porters of the ferry when we reached St George, as I was deep asleep, having been exhausted, sleepy, dreamy, and drunk, and been visited by a friend in a dream, actually more of lapses of short dreams in matters of minutes.

Bookmark and Share

4 Responses

  1. nice ,i enjoyed reading this and i will be back

  2. interesting material, where such topics do you find? I will often go

    • every time i remember my dream, i write the details down here….and i also get materials from books i’ve read…

Leave a Reply

